Le Plateau
Paris

Action Jusqu'à la Balle Crystal, 9th Biennale de Paris, 1975 © Courtesy of Cosey Fanni Tutti and Cabinet, London

A Study in Scarlet

 

Grand opening on Wednesday 16 May, from 6pm to 9pm

Exhibition curator : Gallien Déjean

With Ethan Assouline, Beau Geste Press, Lynda Benglis, Kévin Blinderman : masternantes, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Jean-Louis Brau & Claude Palmer, Monte Cazazza, Chris & Cosey, COUM Transmissions, Vaginal Davis, Brice Dellsperger, Casey Jane Ellison, Harun Farocki, Karen Finley, Brion Gysin, Hendrik Hegray, Her Noise Archive, Robert Morris, Ebecho Muslimova, Meret Oppenheim, Pedro, Muriel & Esther, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Christophe de Rohan Chabot, Louise Sartor, Throbbing Gristle, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Amalia Ulman and Les Vagues.

 

Cosey Fanni Tutti (b. 1951 in Kinston-up on-Hull, England) is well known as a member of the English group Throbbing Gristle, which had a significant impact on the late 1970s’ experimental music scene. Besides her musical activities, Cosey developed a unique body of work defined by her actions within the pornographic industry. The collective exhibition A Study in Scarlet takes her work as its point of departure to present a series of forms, gestures and attitudes through which other artists and performers exceed normative structures of identity and gender.

In 1976, the Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA) in London presented Prostitution, an exhibition initiated by the performance and mail art collective COUM Transmissions. Founded in 1969, COUM was markedly influenced by Dada, Beat poetry, Viennese Actionism, counterculture and occultism. Prior to theICA exhibition, Chris Carter, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Genesis P-Orridge and Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson formed a new musical entity called Throbbing Gristle, which attained cult status as the originators of the industrial electronic music.

At the ICA, it was not so much the band’s bruitalist performance on the opening night that shocked the public than the licentious content of the exhibition. A series of pornographic magazines with pictures of Cosey Fanni Tutti, framed as works of art, was presented in a restricted space that could be entered upon request. Although it lasted only a few days, the exhibition sparked public anger which, kindled by the tabloids, spread from the art world to Parliament and prompted a political debate on moral order and public expenditure in art.

The work of Cosey Fanni Tutti – both her corpus of pornographic magazines and her performances – is based on an emancipatory practice that transgresses institutional or social structures. When the artist worked in the porn industry as a model and actress for several years, she adopted a paradoxical self-representation strategy, as she freed herself from a fixed identity, by incarnating the various female stereotypes (secretary, maid, ingenue . . .) circulated by an essentially heteronormed industry. By exhibiting herself as multiple personae (through her poses, clothes and roles), Cosey Fanni Tutti questions the public’s essentialist conception of femininity. At the same time, she reveals the archetypes and normativity of the patriarchal fantasies generated by the capitalist industry and, like a mirror, turns the desiring gaze back onto itself.

Neither a retrospective nor a historical or monographic survey, A Study in Scarlet was conceived as a nebula of works revolving around Cosey Fanni Tutti’s artistic legacy, looking at its influences (Beat Generation, Fluxus), companions (COUM Transmissions, Monte Cazazza) and contemporaries (Karen Finley), while crossing various issues or strategies also used in more recent practices: infiltrating an institution or industry (artistic, pornographic, musical), integrating the body into a production line, overturning a norm by exacerbating it or making it redundant, self-representing and self-defining one’s own identity, ‘pro-sex’ feminism, the visibility of women on radical music scenes, etc.

A Study in Scarlet is not a thematic exhibition – it is not a project on pornography. Without aiming to be exhaustive, it rather seeks to construct a reflection through practices and gestures, both historical and contemporary, that must be seen in light of the similarities and specificities of the contexts in which they emerged. As tools for emancipation and a rearranging of identities, these strategies operate at the very heart of the channels of cultural distribution, consumption and communication the better to subvert them.

A Study in Scarlet furthermore examines the relationships between the artist and the model – a recurring motif that several participants in the exhibition, such as Vaginal Davis and Christophe de Rohan Chabot, aim to deconstruct or invert. In art, the construction of the gaze is historically based on relationships of gender and domination (man/woman, artist/model, dressed/naked, hidden/exposed). Working in the porn business, Cosey Fanni Tutti consciously re-enacted these age-old patterns. By infiltrating a realm that lies beyond the traditional reaches of art, she deliberately imperilled her status as an artist. Indeed, as a model, she had to partly relinquish creative authority to the industry operators who circulated her image, starting with the photographers in charge of staging it. By attacking the traditional prerogatives of the artist, Cosey Fanni Tutti renewed the anti-hierarchical strategies developed by the historical avant-gardes, applying them to the networks of media production and distribution of the post-industrial capitalist system.

 

!! As some works may contain images that may offend the sensibilities of visitors,
the entrance of the exhibition is not allowed to minors under 18 years old. !!
Curator
Gallien Déjean (born in 1978, lives and works in Paris) is an art critic and curator. He teaches art history and theory at the École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) in Switzerland and at the École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC) in France.  He is a member of Treize, an organization of production, exhibition, and publication. He recently organized the first retrospective about the English art collective BANK (Self Portrait – BANK’s Archives & Relics – 1991-2003 at Treize in 2012 and at Elaine MGK, Basel in 2013). Between 2013 and 2015, he works at le Palais de Tokyo as curator. In 2013, he co-organized the collective exhibition titled Le Club des sous l’eau, based on filmmaker Jean Painlevé’s activities. As writer and editor, he published several books. In 2016, he coordinated the edition of the catalogue of UNdocumenta, a film festival organized at the Asia Culture Center-Theater in Gwangju (Corea). He is preparing a catalogue about BANK which will be published by Primary Information, NY (The Bank Fax-Bak Service).

 

rendez-vous

 

TIME TO TELL
Program of meetings, performances, concerts…

Cosey Fanni Tutti

Meeting
With Nicolas Ballet and Gallien Déjean
Wednesday 06.06.18
7.30pm

Brice Dellsperger
Screening and meeting
Body Double (X)
Wednesday 27.06.18
7.30pm

Nos Désirs liquides
Les Vagues invites artists, researchers, performers and artists collectives, to create with them a program of films, feminists pro-sex, transformists and queers interventions.
!! Look out !!
Date as changed, here is the new one :
Sunday 01.07.18
From 10am

Nicolas Ballet
Post-doctoral researcher in art history at the Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne 
Convention «Alpha females». Transgressions féministes des musiques industrielles (1976-1996)
Wednesday 04.07.18
7.30pm

_

PLATEAU-APÉRO
Wednesday 06.06.18
Wednesday 04.07.18
Late-night openings, up until 9pm, every 1st Wednesdays of the month

 

CURATOR’S TOUR
Sunday 10.06.18
5.30pm
with Gallien Déjean

 

GUIDED TOURS
Every Sunday at 4pm
Meeting-place at the reception

Le Plateau
Paris

Action Jusqu'à la Balle Crystal, 9th Biennale de Paris, 1975 © Courtesy of Cosey Fanni Tutti and Cabinet, London

A Study in Scarlet

Vernissage mercredi 16 mai, de 18h à 21h

Commissaire de l’exposition : Gallien Déjean

Avec Beau Geste Press, Lynda Benglis, Kévin Blinderman : masternantes, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Jean-Louis Brau & Claude Palmer, Monte Cazazza, Chris & Cosey, COUM Transmissions, Vaginal Davis, Brice Dellsperger, Casey Jane Ellison, Harun Farocki, Karen Finley, Brion Gysin, Hendrik Hegray, Her Noise Archive, Robert Morris, Ebecho Muslimova, Meret Oppenheim, Pedro, Muriel & Esther, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Christophe de Rohan Chabot, Louise Sartor, Throbbing Gristle, Cosey Fanni Tutti et Amalia Ulman.

Cosey Fanni Tutti (née en 1951 à Kingston-upon-Hull en Angleterre) est connue pour avoir été membre, à partir de la fin des années 1970, du groupe Throbbing Gristle qui a eu une importance considérable sur la scène expérimentale. Conjointement à ses activités musicales, elle développa une pratique artistique singulière caractérisée par son activité au sein de l’industrie pornographique. Prenant l’œuvre de Cosey Fanni Tutti comme axe de réflexion,  A Study in Scarlet est une exposition collective dans laquelle se déploie une série de formes, de gestes et d’attitudes visant le dépassement ou la transgression des structures normatives d’identités et de genres.

Au cours de l’année 1976, l’Institut of Contemporary Art (ICA) de Londres programme une exposition intitulée Prostitution. À l’origine du projet, COUM Transmissions est un collectif, fondé en 1969, qui se consacre à la performance et au mail art en puisant ses influences dans Dada, la poésie Beat, l’actionnisme viennois, la contre-culture ou encore l’occultisme. À l’occasion de l’exposition, Chris Carter, Cosey Fanni Tutti, Genesis P-Orridge  et Peter « Sleazy » Christopherson, officialisent la transformation de COUM en une entité musicale nouvelle du nom de Throbbing Gristle. Cette formation deviendra en quelques années un groupe culte, pionnier de la musique électronique industrielle.

À l’époque, ce n’est pas tant la performance bruitiste du groupe le soir du vernissage que le contenu sulfureux de l’exposition qui choqua l’opinion publique. Une série de revues pornographiques contenant des photos de Cosey Fanni Tutti étaient encadrées comme des œuvres d’art et présentées dans une salle de l’ICA que l’on pouvait visiter sur demande. Ne durant que quelques jours, l’exposition suffira pourtant à créer une véritable déflagration médiatique relayée par les tabloïds qui se propagera du monde de l’art jusqu’au Parlement, attisant le débat politique autour des questions de défense de l’ordre moral et de contrôle des dépenses publiques dans le domaine artistique.

L’œuvre de Cosey Fanni Tutti, qu’il s’agisse du corpus de revues pornographiques ou de ses performances, se fonde sur une praxis émancipatrice qui transgresse les structures qui l’encadrent. Lorsqu’elle travaille dans l’industrie pornographique en tant que modèle et actrice durant plusieurs années, sa stratégie d’autoreprésentation devient paradoxale, car elle réussit simultanément à se libérer d’une identité figée tout en incarnant l’un après l’autre les stéréotypes féminins (la secrétaire, la femme de ménage, l’étudiante ingénue…) véhiculés par la pornographie hétéronormée. Par cette exhibition démultipliée d’elle-même (poses, vêtements, rôles), Cosey Fanni Tutti va à l’encontre d’une conception essentialiste de la féminité. Par la même occasion, elle dévoile les archétypes et la normativité des fantasmes patriarcaux produits par l’industrie capitaliste et, comme un miroir, retourne le regard désirant contre lui-même.

Ni rétrospective ni historique, ni même monographique, l’exposition se pense comme une nébuleuse qui se déploie à partir de la pratique de Cosey Fanni Tutti pour rayonner à la fois du côté de ses influences (Beat Generation, Fluxus), de ses compagnons de route (COUM Transmissions, Monte Cazazza) et de ses contemporains (Karen Finley), tout en reliant un certain nombre de problématiques ou de stratégies  à travers des pratiques récentes : l’infiltration d’une institution ou d’une industrie (qu’elle soit artistique, pornographique ou musicale), l’absorption d’un corps dans une chaîne de production, le renversement d’une norme par son exacerbation ou sa redondance, l’autoreprésentation et l’autodéfinition de sa propre identité, le féminisme « pro-sexe », la visibilité des femmes sur les scènes musicales radicales, etc.

L’exposition n’est pas thématique – il ne s’agit pas d’un projet sur la pornographie. Au contraire, A Study in Scarlet a pour objectif de construire sans exhaustivité une réflexion avec des pratiques et des gestes, historiques ou contemporains, qu’il faut envisager selon les similitudes et les spécificités liées à leurs contextes d’émergence. Outils d’émancipation et de réagencement des identités, ces stratégies se déploient au cœur des réseaux de distribution, de consommation et de communication de la culture pour mieux les subvertir.

Dans A Study in Scarlet, ces questions convergent également dans l’observation de la relation entre l’artiste et son modèle – motif récurrent qu’un certain nombre de participants tentent, dans l’exposition, de déconstruire et d’inverser, à l’instar de Vaginal Davis et Christophe de Rohan Chabot. Dans l’histoire de l’art, la construction du regard se fonde sur des rapports de genre et de domination (homme/femme, artiste/modèle, habillé/dénudée, hors-champ/exhibée). Lorsqu’elle intègre le monde de la pornographie, Cosey Fanni Tutti rejoue ces schémas séculaires. En s’infiltrant hors du champ de l’art, elle accepte de porter atteinte à l’intégrité même de son statut d’artiste, puisqu’il lui faut abandonner, en tant que modèle, une partie de l’autorité créatrice au profit des opérateurs de l’industrie qui véhiculent son image – à commencer par les photographes chargés de la mettre en scène. En attaquant les prérogatives traditionnelles de sa position d’artiste, elle renouvelle les stratégies anti-hiérarchiques développées par les avant-gardes historiques qu’elle confronte aux circuits de production et de diffusion médiatiques du système capitaliste post-industriel.

 

!! En raison de la nature de certaines images, pouvant heurter la sensibilité des
visiteurs, l’exposition est interdite aux mineurs de – de 18 ans. !!

 

Gallien Déjean (né en 1978, vit et travaille à Paris) est critique d’art et commissaire indépendant. Il enseigne l’histoire de l’art et la théorie à l’École cantonale d’art de Lausanne (ECAL) en Suisse et à l’École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC) en France.  Il est membre de Treize, structure de production, d’exposition et d’édition. Il a récemment conçu la première rétrospective consacrée au collectif artistique anglais BANK (Self Portrait – BANK’s Archives & Relics – 1991-2003 à Treize en 2012 et chez Elaine MGK, à Bâle, en 2013). De 2013 à 2015, il a été commissaire d’expositions au Palais de Tokyo. En 2013, il a coréalisé l’exposition collective intitulée Le Club des sous l’eau, à partir des activités de réalisateur de films de Jean Painlevé. Il a publié plusieurs livres en tant qu’auteur et éditeur. En 2016, il a coordonné la publication du catalogue de UNdocumenta, un festival de films organisé à l’Asia Culture Center-Theater à Gwangju (Corée). Il prépare actuellement un catalogue sur BANK qui sera édité par Primary Information, NY (The Bank Fax-Bak Service).