Le Château
Rentilly

Conception graphique © Baldinger • Vu-Huu

L

With 

Dominique Labauvie, Maëlle Labussière, Jeff Ladouceur, Suzanne Lafont, Denis Laget, Jacques René Lagrange, LALAN, Bernard Lallemand, Bertrand Lamarche, Fabrice Langlade, Annika Larsson et Augustin Maurs, Bo Christian Larsson, Elad Lassry, Micha Laury, Bertrand Lavier, Christopher Le Brun, Jean Le Gac, Marc Le Mené, Marie-Hélène Le Ny, Cécile Le Talec, Guillaume Leblon, Mark Leckey, Seulgi Lee, Frédéric Lefever, Marie Legros, Pierre Leguillon, Mathieu Lehanneur, Jochen Lempert, Jean Leppien, Rainier Lericolais, Eugène Leroy, Elodie Lesourd, Natacha Lesueur, Agnès Levy, Christian Lhopital, Arto Lindsay, Tony Long, Mireille Loup, Ken Lum, Marie Lund, Guy de Lussigny, Mark Luyten

Works from the frac île-de-france collection

Curator : Xavier Franceschi

frac île-de-france, le château / Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier

From 22nd September 2018 to 10th February 2019 the frac île-de-france is holding an exhibition with works from its collection at the Château de Rentilly* (Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier), where the selection of works is left purely to chance : a random draw, open to everyone  via a plugin on the frac website, has taken place from May 25 to June 10, to choose a letter from the alphabet determining the artists to be exhibited. The ‘winning’ letter is ‘L‘ : all artists in the collection whose name begins with ‘L’ are  part of the exhibition and all their works will systematically be exhibited**.

While this project is the first of its kind, it is consistent with the approach to the collection fostering experimentation – while at the same time respecting the works and artists involved – in particular through a both fun and conceptual approach.

Reflecting past exhibitions, whether at the Plateau or Château, along with historical exhibitions – from Surrealists, Fluxus to more recent proposals from Bertrand Lavier or Bob Nickas –, there is a predefined rule or protocol here that must be rigorously and religiously adhered to.

As a result, whereas the true stance of an exhibition is generally determined through the selection of works, in this exhibition a predetermined principle is set in motion leaving no room for any subjective choices. From another point of view it is something truly arbitrary, the rule that is defined largely governs the next steps…
Beyond this apparent paradox, the exhibition and this stance enable works to be exhibited and compared on a completely new level.
Detached from any pre-existing or predominant theme, they appear de facto in perfect autonomy. That’s the real objective: to introduce works from the collection in their integrity, for what they are, without any preconceptions or bias.

* and in the salle des trophées
** Apart from works requiring extensive restoration or those on loan that would be too complicated to move.

 

 

rendez-vous

 

Guided tours

Every Sunday at
3pm

 

Encounters

Once a month, on a Sunday, at 3pm, the frac organises an encounter with the artist(s) or curator

 

Elodie Lesourd / Bertrand Lamarche
Sunday 28.10.18
3pm

Visite commissaire avec Xavier Franceschi
Sunday 09.12.18
3pm

Seulgi Lee / Pierre Leguillon
Sunday 27.01.19
3pm

__

frac île-de-france, le château
Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier

Domaine de Rentilly
1 rue de l’Etang
77600 Bussy-Saint-Martin
fraciledefrance.com / parcculturelrentilly.fr

Free entrance
Wed. & Sat. 2:30pm – 5:30pm
Sun. 10:30am – 1pm, 2:30pm – 5:30pm

Le Château
Rentilly

Crédit photo : Le château de Rentilly © Bona-Lemercier/Alexis Bertrand/Xavier Veilhan (ADAGP, Paris, 2018) Photo Martin Argyroglo / Montage Margaux Simonetti

L

Avec les œuvres de

Dominique Labauvie, Maëlle Labussière, Jeff Ladouceur, Suzanne Lafont, Denis Laget, Jacques René Lagrange, LALAN, Bernard Lallemand, Bertrand Lamarche, Fabrice Langlade, Annika Larsson et Augustin Maurs, Bo Christian Larsson, Elad Lassry, Micha Laury, Bertrand Lavier, Christopher Lebrun, Jean Le Gac, Marc Le Mené, Marie-Hélène Le Ny, Cécile Le Talec, Guillaume Leblon, Mark Leckey, Seulgi Lee, Frédéric Lefever, Marie Legros, Pierre Leguillon, Mathieu Lehanneur, Jochen Lempert, Jean Leppien, Rainier Lericolais, Eugène Leroy, Elodie Lesourd, Natacha Lesueur, Agnès Levy, Christian Lhopital, Arto Lindsay, Tony Long, Mireille Loup, Ken Lum, Marie Lund, Guy de Lussigny, Mark Luyten

Oeuvres de la collection du frac île-de-france

Commissaire de l’exposition : Xavier Franceschi

frac île-de-france, le château / Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier

Le frac île-de-france organise au Château de Rentilly* (Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier) une exposition à partir de sa collection relevant intrinsèquement du plus pur des hasards : un tirage au sort, ouvert à tous via un plugin sur le site internet du frac, a été organisé du 25 mai au 10 juin 2018 pour choisir une lettre de l’alphabet, lettre déterminant le choix des artistes exposés. La lettre « gagnante » est le « L » : tous les artistes présents dans la collection du frac dont le nom commence par « L » font donc partie de l’exposition et toutes leurs œuvres sont systématiquement présentées **.

Tout en constituant une véritable première, le projet s’inscrit dans une logique de travail avec la collection favorisant l’expérimentation – tout en respectant les œuvres et les artistes dont il est question –, notamment par une approche à la fois ludique et conceptuelle.

À l’image d’expositions organisées par le passé, que ce soit au Plateau ou au Château, tout comme dans la lignée d’expositions historiques – des surréalistes, de Fluxus aux propositions plus récentes de Bertrand Lavier ou de Bob Nickas –, il s’agit ici de définir une règle au préalable – un protocole – et de s’y tenir de façon rigoureuse, voire drastique.

Ainsi, là où en général se détermine en premier lieu le véritable parti pris d’une exposition – en l’occurrence la sélection des œuvres –, se met en place un principe prédéterminé ne laissant aucune place à un choix d’ordre subjectif.
D’un autre point de vue, il s’agit de quelque chose de véritablement arbitraire – la définition de la règle en question – qui régit en grande partie la suite des opérations…
Au-delà de ce paradoxe apparent, l’exposition et ce parti pris permettent la présentation et la confrontation d’œuvres sous un jour totalement inédit.
Détachées de toute thématique préexistante ou prédominante, elles se présentent de fait en une parfaite autonomie. Et c’est là le véritable but du jeu : donner à voir les œuvres de la collection pour ce qu’elles sont, sans présupposé ni parti pris, dans toute leur intégrité.

 

* Et dans la salle des trophées
* * En dehors de celles nécessitant de trop fortes restaurations ou de celles, en dépôt, dont le déplacement s’avère trop complexe.

__

frac île-de-france, le château
Parc culturel de Rentilly – Michel Chartier

Domaine de Rentilly
1 rue de l’Etang
77600 Bussy-Saint-Martin
fraciledefrance.com / parcculturelrentilly.fr

Entrée libre
Mer. & Sam. 14h30- 17h30
Dim. 10h30 – 13h, 14h30 – 17h30