Le Plateau
Paris

Judith Hopf, Phone User 2, 2021 (detail) © Judith Hopf / Adagp, Paris, 2022 Photo: Andrea Rossetti Courtesy Judith Hopf and kaufmann repetto Milan / New York

Judith Hopf
Énergies

Opening at Le Plateau, Wednesday 21st September, from 6pm to 9pm

Opening at Bétonsalon, Thursday 22nd September, from 4pm to 9pm

Le Plateau is partnering with Bétonsalon to host a two-part exhibition by Judith Hopf, from September 22 to December 2022. Since the 2000s, the German artist has been making sculptures and films fuelled by reflections on the relationships that human beings have with technology. For this first monographic exhibition in France, orchestrated by three curators: François Aubart, Xavier Franceschi and Émilie Renard, Judith Hopf unites existing and previously unseen works. The title, Energies, refers to what powers each of our electrical appliances, considered from a technical as well as a philosophical point of view.

While at Bétonsalon the artworks revolve around the consumption of energy, at Le Plateau the production of energy is the focus. Judith Hopf has created several works for the occasion that evoke the transformation of meteorological phenomena such as rain and sun into electricity.

This mastery of the environment is also expressed in sculptures made from solar panels that have been nibbled like a Swiss cheese or have holes in them so that we can see through them and observe what is behind them. The instrumentalisation of the landscape that she enables us to see also animates the sculptures of animals that recall a nature that has become serialized and dehumanized, a world where rationality prevails over attention to the living.

This exhibition uses oppositions between natural evolution and stubborn growth to compose scathing scenarios that are even more devastating because they represent our daily lives.

Filled with reflections on energy consumption, Energies reminds us that many of our actions and activities depend on the conversion of natural resources into power and that, in this age of video-conferencing, large quantities of electricity and human energy are needed to create exhibitions. The Phone Users, sculptures of characters busy checking their phones, which correspond from Bétonsalon to Le Plateau may be a metaphor for this, they will continue to communicate until they must tell the other person: “I’ve run out of battery”.

* Émilie Renard is the director of Bétonsalon – centre for art and research and François Aubart is an independant  curator, editor and teaches at the École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC)

Judith Hopf (born 1969, Karlsruhe, Germany) lives and works in Berlin. Her work has been exhibited in numerous international institutions, at SMK – National Gallery of Denmark, Copenhagen (2018); KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2018); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2017); Museion, Bolzano (2016); Neue Galerie, Kassel (2015); PRAXES, Berlin (2014); Kunsthalle Lingen, Lingen (2013); Studio Voltaire, London (2013); Fondazione Morra Greco, Naples (2013); Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, Frankfurt (2013); Malmø Konsthall, Malmø (2012); Grazer Kunstverein, Graz (2012); Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2008); Portikus, Frankfurt (2007); Secession, Vienna (2006); Caso Institute for Art and Design, Utrecht (2006) She has participated in numerous biennials and group exhibitions, such as Lenbachhaus, Munich (2018); Mudam, Luxembourg (2017); La Biennale de Montréal (2016); 8th Liverpool Biennial, Liverpool (2014); Sculpture Center, New York (2014); Triennale for Video Art, Mechelen (2012); dOCUMENTA13, Kassel (2012); Kunsthalle Basel (2011); Kunsthall Oslo, Oslo (2010). Judith Hopf teaches at the Städelschule, Frankfurt School of Higher Art.

_

frac île-de-france, le plateau

22 rue des Alouettes

75019 Paris

 

Rendez-vous

 

Plateau-Apéro

Wednesday 05.10.22

7pm to 9pm

 

Artist / curator visit

Saturday 22.10.22

4pm

With Judith Hopf, François Aubart, Xavier Franceschi and Émilie Renard.

Shuttle bus to the Plateau and Bétonsalon

Reservation required: reservation@fraciledefrance.com

 

Film programme

Tuesday 15.11.22

7.30pm

Film projection by Judith Hopf at the L’Archipel cinema, Paris 10.

Prices: 8€/ reduced 6,50€.

 

WE FRAC 2022 / Happy twenty party !

Saturday 19.11.22

From 7pm to midnight

Live shows of TNSCH + Prosper + Infecticide (from 8.15pm)

& presentation of 20 posters by school of arts students

Le Plateau
Paris

Judith Hopf, Phone User 2, 2021 (detail) © Judith Hopf / Adagp, Paris, 2022 Photo: Andrea Rossetti Courtesy Judith Hopf and kaufmann repetto Milan / New York

Judith Hopf
Énergies

Vernissage au Plateau mercredi 21 septembre, de 18h à 21h

Vernissage à Bétonsalon jeudi 22 septembre, de 16h à 21h

 

Le Plateau s’associe à Bétonsalon pour accueillir une exposition en deux volets de Judith Hopf, du 22 septembre au 11 décembre 2022. Depuis les années 2000, l’artiste allemande réalise des sculptures et des films alimentés par des réflexions sur les relations que les êtres humains entretiennent avec la technologie. Pour cette première exposition monographique en France, orchestrée par trois commissaires : François Aubart, Xavier Franceschi et Émilie Renard *, Judith Hopf réunit des œuvres existantes et inédites. Son titre, Énergies, désigne ce qui alimente chacun de nos appareils électriques au quotidien, envisagé selon un point de vue autant technique que philosophique.

Alors qu’à Bétonsalon les œuvres tournent autour de la consommation d’énergie, au Plateau c’est de sa production dont il est question. Judith Hopf réalise pour l’occasion plusieurs œuvres qui évoquent la transformation des phénomènes météorologiques que sont la pluie et le soleil en électricité. Cette maîtrise de l’environnement s’exprime également dans des sculptures réalisées à partir de panneaux solaires grignotés comme un gruyère ou troués pour que l’on puisse voir à travers et observer ce qu’ils cachent, ce qu’il y a derrière.

L’instrumentalisation du paysage que l’artiste nous donne à voir, anime par ailleurs les sculptures d’animaux qui évoquent à leur tour une nature devenue production sérielle, déshumanisée, un monde où la rationalité l’emporte sur l’attention au vivant.

Cette exposition s’appuie sur des oppositions entre évolution naturelle et croissance bornée pour composer des mises en scène cinglantes et d’autant plus corrosives que c’est notre quotidien qu’elles représentent. Pétrie de réflexions sur la consommation énergétique, Énergies nous rappelle que nombre de nos actions et de nos activités dépendent de la conversion de ressources naturelles en puissance et qu’en outre, en cette période de communication par visioconférence, il en faut de grandes quantités, électriques et humaines, pour monter des expositions.

Les Phone Users, des sculptures de personnages occupés à consulter leurs téléphones, qui se répondent de Bétonsalon au Plateau, peuvent en être la métaphore. Ils continueront de communiquer jusqu’à devoir annoncer à l’autre : « je n’ai plus de batterie. »

* Émilie Renard est directrice de Bétonsalon – centre d’art et de recherche et François Aubart est commissaire d‘exposition indépendant, éditeur et enseigne à l’École nationale supérieure d’arts de Paris-Cergy (ENSAPC).

Judith Hopf (née en 1969, Karlsruhe, Allemagne) vit et travaille à Berlin. Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans de nombreuses institutions internationales : à SMK – National Gallery of Denmark, Copenhague (2018); KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2018); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2017); Museion, Bolzano (2016); Neue Galerie, Kassel (2015); PRAXES, Berlin (2014); Kunsthalle Lingen, Lingen (2013); Studio Voltaire, Londres (2013); Fondazione Morra Greco, Naples (2013); Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, Francfort (2013); Malmø Konsthall, Malmø (2012); Grazer Kunstverein, Graz (2012); Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2008); Portikus, Francfort (2007); Secession, Vienne (2006); Caso Institute for Art and Design, Utrecht (2006). Elle a participé à de nombreuses biennales et expositions collectives, telles que Lenbachhaus, Munich (2018); Mudam, Luxembourg (2017); La Biennale de Montréal (2016); 8th Liverpool Biennial, Liverpool (2014); Sculpture Center, New York (2014); Triennale for Video Art, Mechelen (2012); dOCUMENTA13, Kassel (2012); Kunsthalle Basel (2011); Kunsthall Oslo, Oslo (2010). Judith Hopf enseigne à l’école d’art supérieure de Francfort, la Städelschule.

_

frac île-de-france, le plateau

22 rue des Alouettes

75019 Paris

 

Rendez-vous

 

Plateau-Apéro

+ Présentation de Sphinx par l’artiste Io Burgard à 19h30

Mercredi 05.10.22

19h–21h

 

Visite artiste / commissaire

Samedi 22.10.22

16h

Avec Judith Hopf, François Aubart, Xavier Franceschi et Émilie Renard.

Navette en le Plateau et Bétonsalon

Réservation obligatoire : reservation@fraciledefrance.com

 

Programme de films

Mardi 15.11.22

19h30

Projection de films de Judith Hopf au cinéma L’Archipel, Paris 10ème.

Tarifs : 8€/ réduit 6,50€

 

WE FRAC 2022 / Soirée Happy twenty !

Pour les 20 ans du Plateau 

Samedi 19.11.22

19h–00h

Concerts de TNSCH + Prosper + Infecticide (à partir 20h15)

& présentation des 20 affiches des étudiants de 1er cycle d’écoles d’art