Le Plateau
Paris

Charlotte Cherici, POURQUOI TORDU ?, 2018, Collection frac île-de-france © Charlotte Cherici

La Rivière m’a dit

La Rivière m’a dit  (The River Told Me)

Grand Opening on Wenesday 23th January,
from 6pm to 9pm

 

Melanie Bonajo, Charlotte Cherici, Nashashibi/Skaer,
Ben Rivers, Ben Russell, Margaret Salmon

Exhibition curator : Xavier Franceschi

 

Whether a strange journey to Tahiti following in Gauguin’s footsteps, the portrait of a solitary recluse in the middle of the woods philosophising about the origin and fate of mankind, children learning about fauna in a forest setting, a quasi-mythical scene showing a group of men, women and children bathing in a river, portraits of four women defying conventional lifestyles, or recordings and visions of healing ceremonies in the Peruvian Amazon, the exhibition La Rivière m’a dit presents a series of works within which nature occupies a prominent place in a variety of ways.

Addressing issues regarding nature inevitably leaves us with a rather grim outlook. The impending ecological disaster is becoming a more unbearable reality by the day, while man is still failing to redefine his vital relationship with the world.

While the exhibition and works do not necessarily take overtly political and ecological stances, La Rivière m’a dit is an exhibition that seems to suggest alternative avenues despite being tinged with nostalgia and mirroring a lost paradise.

Consisting exclusively of videos that are mostly from the collection, La Rivière m’a dit runs like a long visual poem in the dark spaces of Le Plateau: a lost paradise, or more positively, a providential place for real regeneration.

Le Plateau
Paris

Charlotte Cherici, POURQUOI TORDU ?, 2018, Collection frac île-de-france © Charlotte Cherici

La Rivière m’a dit

 

Vernissage mercredi 23 janvier, de 18h à 21h
frac île-de-france, le plateau

 

Avec

Melanie Bonajo, Charlotte Cherici, Nashashibi/Skaer,
Ben Rivers, Ben Russell, Margaret Salmon

Commissaire de l’exposition : Xavier Franceschi

 

Qu’il s’agisse d’un étrange voyage à Tahiti sur les traces de Gauguin, du portrait d’un solitaire reclus au milieu des bois philosophant sur l’origine et le destin de l’humanité, de l’apprentissage en pleine forêt de la faune par des enfants, d’une scène confinant au mythe montrant un groupe d’hommes, de femmes et d’enfants se baignant dans une rivière, des portraits de quatre femmes engagées dans des formes de vie à rebours des conventions établies, ou bien des enregistrements et visions de séances de guérison en Amazonie péruvienne, l’exposition La Rivière m’a dit donne à voir une série d’œuvres au sein desquelles la nature, de diverses manières, occupe une place primordiale.

 

Aborder la question de la nature nous place inévitablement dans une perspective plus que sombre. Le désastre écologique annoncé devient jour après jour une réalité plus insupportable, alors que l’homme ne parvient toujours pas à redéfinir son rapport vital au monde.

Sans que l’exposition et les œuvres elles-mêmes adoptent nécessairement des partis pris ouvertement politiques et écologiques, La Rivière m’a dit propose un parcours qui, s’il est teinté de nostalgie et semble se faire l’écho d’un paradis perdu, semble indiquer d’autres voies possibles.

 

Composée exclusivement de vidéos pour la plupart issues de la collection, La Rivière m’a dit se déroule comme un long poème visuel dans les espaces plongés dans le noir du Plateau : un paradis perdu ou bien, plus positivement, un espace providentiel de vraie régénérescence.