Le Plateau
Paris

Stéphane Dafflon, AM012 et AM013, 2017 © courtesy de Stéphane Dafflon et Air de Paris, Paris

Stéphane Dafflon – U+25A6

Grand opening on Wednesday 31 January, from 6pm to 9pm

Exhibition curator : Xavier Franceschi

 

For his first solo exhibition at a Parisian institution, Swiss artist Stéphane Dafflon entirely rethinks the various areas at le plateau with an architectural and pictorial dimension, creating a whole new series of artworks encompassing paintings, sculptures and wall stickers. This presentation and these works change our perception of reality through the artist’s sphere of abstraction.

Wall stickers boasting a plethora of infinite colours and shades fill the space with the power of vibration like a wave resonating with the surrounding architecture.
Created on a computer to begin with and then transposed to a canvas or wall, Stéphane Dafflon’s pictorial work is always designed with a specific place or architecture in mind. It is incorporated within his work and his actions change the audience’s perception of it, visually and physically.
The long chromatic variation of shades displayed in Stéphane Dafflon’s wall installation brings an impression of movement to the different areas at le plateau and feelings experienced by visitors reflect a certain affinity with the world of music.

Stéphane Dafflon has also been creating abstract sculptural works for several years, not restricting himself to paint. Different materials such as wood, translucent Plexiglas and stainless steel are used to produce these three-dimensional works. Painted or shimmering, these 3D objects echo the shapes of the paintings hung on the walls causing reflections, interacting with the surroundings and opening the space out to unexpected perspectives.

These transformed spaces create uninhibited visual rhythmics (originating in and detached from the pictorial theories of Max Bill in particular), combining objects, paintings and drawings with wall stickers that communicate with each another like multiple perspectives with painstakingly chosen and calibrated colours emphasising a graphic dimension with the architecture.

Through this visual assemblage of painting, sculpture, object and architecture, Stéphane Dafflon’s work portrays an original and radical vision of abstract painting, painting in the broad sense, conceived beyond media deemed as traditional such as a canvas and its frame to instigate a spatial and colourful conversation positioning the viewer at the heart of a veritable pictorial arrangement.

 

Graduated from ECAL (École cantonale d’art de Lausanne) in 1999, where he is teaching since 2001, Stéphane Dafflon lives and works in Geneva. He has presented monographic exhibitions at the Freiburg Art center, at MAMCO in Geneva, at Frac Aquitaine in Bordeaux, at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Copenhagen and Villa Arson in Nice.
His works are present in many public collections, among which: Artothèque of Villeurbanne / Fonds National d’Art Contemporain – FNAC, Puteaux / FRAC Poitou-Charentes, Angoulême / FRAC Aquitaine, Bordeaux / frac île-de-france, Paris / FRAC Franche-Comté, Besançon / FRAC Pays de la Loire, Carquefou / Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain (FCAC), Geneva / Fonds d’art contemporain of the City of Geneva (FMAC)/ Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne / Collection Kunsthaus, Aarau, Suisse.
He is represented by the galleries : Paris Air, Paris / Xippas, Geneva, Montevideo, Punta del Este (Uruguay) / Francesca Pia, Zurich / Parra Romero, Madrid.
The exhibition is supported by Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la culture and Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, DIP, Genève.

 

rendez-vous

 

Plateau-Apéro
Late-night openings, up until 9pm, every 1st Wednesdays of the month
Wed 07.02.18
Wed 07.03.18
Wed 04.04.18

L’Homme aux cent yeux 
(revue)

Thursday 15.02.18 – 7:30pm
Anouchka Oler

Visit with the artist

Sunday 25.03.18 – 5:30pm
with Stéphane Dafflon

Guided tours
Every Sundays – 4pm

Le Plateau
Paris

Stéphane Dafflon, AM012,2017 © courtesy de Stéphane Dafflon et Air de Paris, Paris

Stéphane Dafflon – U+25A6

Vernissage mercredi 31 janvier, de 18h à 21h

Commissaire de l’exposition : Xavier Franceschi

 

Pour sa première exposition personnelle au plateau et dans une institution à Paris, l’artiste suisse Stéphane Dafflon revisite entièrement les espaces du plateau pour une intervention tant architecturale que picturale, générant toute une série d’œuvres nouvelles, peintures, sculptures et adhésifs muraux. Dans ce champ de l’abstraction qui est le sien, cette intervention et ces œuvres tendent à modifier notre perception du réel.

Les adhésifs muraux aux couleurs et nuances infinies confèrent à l’espace une puissance vibratoire, à la manière d’une onde qui entrerait en résonance avec l’architecture du lieu.
Créé à l’écran tout d’abord puis transposé de l’ordinateur à la toile ou au mur, le travail pictural de Stéphane Dafflon est toujours pensé pour un lieu, pour une architecture bien précise, dans laquelle il s’inscrit et sur laquelle il va agir pour modifier la perception qu’en a le spectateur, aussi bien visuellement que physiquement.
Par le long fondu enchaîné chromatique qui se déroule à travers l’installation murale que propose Stéphane Dafflon, l’espace du plateau est comme mis en mouvement et les sensations que le visiteur y éprouve témoignent d’une parenté certaine avec l’univers de la musique.

Non circonscrites au seul médium de la peinture, les œuvres abstraites de Stéphane Dafflon se développent également depuis quelques années sous la forme de sculptures. Les œuvres qu’il réalise en trois dimensions se déclinent avec différents matériaux tels que le bois, le plexiglas translucide ou l’inox. Peints ou miroitants, ces objets en trois dimensions font écho aux formes des peintures accrochées aux murs provoquant des reflets, des interactions avec le contexte environnant qui ouvrent l’espace à des perspectives inattendues.

Les espaces ainsi transformés initient une rythmique visuelle décomplexée (à la fois héritière et détachée des théories picturales de Max Bill notamment) mêlant objets, peintures et dessin à l’adhésif qui dialoguent les uns avec les autres comme autant de points de vue multiples dont les couleurs minutieusement choisies et calibrées viennent souligner un jeu graphique avec l’architecture.

Par ces emboîtements visuels entre peinture, sculpture, objet et architecture, le travail de Stéphane Dafflon propose un point de vue à la fois original et radical sur la peinture abstraite, une peinture que l’on peut juger comme élargie, qui s’invente en dehors des supports classiques que sont la toile et le châssis pour instaurer une conversation spatiale et colorée plaçant le spectateur au centre d’un véritable dispositif pictural.

 

Diplômé de l’ECAL/École cantonale d’art de Lausanne en 1999, où il enseigne depuis 2001, Stéphane Dafflon vit et travaille à Genève. Il a notamment présenté des expositions monographiques au Centre d’art de Fribourg, au MAMCO à Genève, au FRAC Aquitaine à Bordeaux, à l’Institut d’Art Contemporain de Copenhague et à la Villa Arson à Nice.
Ses œuvres sont présentes dans de nombreuses collections publiques, parmi lesquelles : Artothèque de Villeurbanne/ Fonds National d’Art Contemporain – FNAC, Puteaux / FRAC Poitou-Charentes, Angoulême / FRAC Aquitaine, Bordeaux / frac île-de-france, Paris / FRAC Franche-Comté, Besançon / FRAC Pays de la Loire, Carquefou / Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain (FCAC), Genève / Fonds d’art contemporain de la Ville de Genève (FMAC)/ Musée cantonal des Beaux Arts, Lausanne / Collection Kunsthaus, Aarau, Suisse.
Il est représenté par les galeries : Air de Paris, Paris / Xippas, Genève, Montevideo, Punta del Este (Uruguay) / Francesca Pia, Zürich / Parra Romero, Madrid.
L’exposition bénéficie du soutien de Pro Helvetia, Fondation suisse pour la culture et du Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, DIP, Genève.

rendez-vous


Plateau-Apéro
Nocturnes, jusqu’à 21h tous les 1ers mercredi du mois
Mercredi 07.02.18
Mercredi 07.03.18
Mercredi 04.04.18

L’Homme aux cent yeux (revue)
Jeudi 15.02.18 – 19h30
Anouchka Oler

Visite artiste

Dimanche 25.03.18 – 17h30
avec Stéphane Dafflon

Visites guidées
Tous les dimanches – 16h