Offsite

© Fondation Fiminco / Freaks Architectes

les réserves

New home in Romainville for the frac île-de-france reserve collection!
Opening envisaged: autumn 2020

 

The frac île-de-france will benefit from a new home for its reserve collection from autumn 2020. A new 2000 m2 building has been bought to host the Frac collection by the Île-de-France region in partnership with the Ministry of Culture, at the heart of a site in Romainville, invested in by the Fiminco Foundation.

The frac île-de-france will have new amenities in Romainville, the final component of its multi-site, three-pronged project: Le Plateau in Paris dedicated to production; the Château in Rentilly for regularly exhibiting the collection; Romainville for optimum conservation of the reserve collection. Through these three locations, each with different audiences, the frac operates at the heart of the Paris region, within the inner and outer suburbs, while continuing its off-site diffusion programme through its collection boasting over 1600 works.

In Romainville, beyond the function of storage, the collection and backstage is presented in a different light. Mediation activities will be initiated around works and professions and roles related to the collection regarding conservation, restoration and circulation.
Almost a quarter of the spaces in the building will be made accessible to the public, an unprecedented proportion in a venue whose main function is the storage and conservation of works.

The reserve collection will be housed in a new building within this new contemporary art hub in eastern Paris – a former industrial area currently undergoing reconstruction by the architecture firm Freaks – that will also accommodate studios and residencies for artists, the Fiminco Foundation exhibition space, several contemporary art galleries (Air de Paris, Fabienne Leclerc, Imane Farès, Vincent Sator, Jocelyn Wolff) and the artists’ association Jeune Création.

Activities will be developed in synergy with the various stakeholders of the site – resident artists, galleries, foundations – to foster meetings and discussions, and specific dissemination projects will be implemented in conjunction with based partners so that the frac île-de-france can benefit from strong roots in this new area.

Hors les Murs

© Fondation Fiminco / Freaks Architectes

les réserves

Un nouveau lieu à Romainville pour les réserves du frac île-de-france !
Ouverture prévue : automne 2020

 

Dès l’automne 2020, le frac île-de-france bénéficiera d’un nouveau lieu pour accueillir ses réserves : un nouveau bâtiment – d’une surface de 2000m2 – va être acheté par la Région Île-de-France avec le concours de l’Etat/Ministère de la culture, au cœur d’un site investi par la Fondation Fiminco à Romainville, afin d’accueillir la collection du frac.

Le frac île-de-france se dote désormais d’un nouvel équipement à Romainville, dernier élément de son projet multi-site et d’un dispositif pensé en forme de triptyque : au Plateau, à Paris, un lieu consacré à la production, au Château, à Rentilly, un lieu pour exposer régulièrement la collection et à Romainville, des réserves pour une conservation optimale de la collection. Par cette triple implantation touchant différents publics, dans Paris, en petite et grande couronne , le frac inscrit son action au cœur des territoires de la région, tout en poursuivant sa diffusion hors-les-murs avec sa collection riche de plus de 1600 œuvres.

Au-delà de la fonction de stockage, il s’agit de donner à voir autrement la collection et ses coulisses. Ainsi, des actions de médiation seront entreprises autour des œuvres, présentées telles quelles, tout juste sorties de leurs emballages, et des métiers et missions liés à la collection, en termes de conservation, restauration et diffusion.
Près d’un quart des espaces du bâtiment seront rendus accessibles au public, une proportion inédite dans un lieu dont la fonction principale est le stockage et la conservation d’œuvres.

Les réserves occuperont un bâtiment neuf au sein de ce nouveau pôle d’art contemporain de l’est parisien – ancienne friche industrielle en cours de réhabilitation par l’agence d’architecture Freaks – qui hébergera également des ateliers et résidences d’artistes, l’espace d’exposition de la Fondation Fiminco, plusieurs galeries d’art contemporain (Air de Paris, Fabienne Leclerc, Imane Farès, Vincent Sator, Jocelyn Wolff) et l’association Jeune Création.

Des actions seront menées en synergie avec les différents acteurs du site – artistes résidents, galeries, fondations – pour favoriser les rencontres et échanges, et des projets spécifiques de diffusion seront mis en place en association avec les partenaires présents sur le territoire, au niveau local et régional.