Les Réserves
Romainville

Détail de Ibrahim Meïté Sikely, The Five Marvelous Neighbors from the 5th Floor, 2022, Collection Frac Île-de-France © Photo : Aurélien Mole

Vieilles coques & jeunes récifs

A curatorial proposal by Céline Poulin and Alicia Reymond

with works by Alex Ayed, Jimmy Beauquesne, Bruno Botella, Eglė Budvytytė, Nina Canell, Nicolas Faubert & Mona Young-eun Kim, Garance Früh, Robin Girod, Hedwig Houben, Camille Juthier, Taus Makhacheva, Ibrahim Meïté Sikely, Tracey Moffatt, Isadora Neves Marques, Ceylan Öztrük, Clara Pacotte, Hatice Pinarbaşi, Prune Phi, Camilo Restrepo, Colin Self, Ketty Steward & L. M. Cantori, Zin Taylor, Eden Tinto Collins, Jeanne Vicérial and Laure Vigna

and a scenography by rita elhajj and régis badgassarian.

 

The title of the exhibition, Vieilles coques & jeunes récifs, evokes the metaphor of the body as an envelope doomed to entropy, potentially challenged by beautiful corals that replace it or, on the contrary, revive it.

Physical and psychic bodies, whether real or imagined, develop in response to injunctions and needs for performance, adaptability or treatment: technological advances enable survival as well as improved competitiveness, in the professional sports sector but also, more generally, in all the spheres that form part of this world-system.

Science fiction anticipated these issues and continues to invent real, augmented or fictional bodies that subtly relate to each other and to different ecosystems.

The title also evokes the fact that, contrary to popular belief, SF often draws on very old histories, the deep imprints of which on our imaginations are hard to pin down, which contributes to its capacity for decentring and, here again, for regeneration.

The works on show at Le Plateau (works from the collection, loans of works and specific productions for the exhibition) have one thing in common: they suggest, explicitly or otherwise, that transformations are taking place. These take the form of exercises and training (Camille Juthier, Taus Makhacheva), experiments and mutations that are sometimes successful and sometimes unsuccessful (Ceylan Östrük), operating in different places, from the micro to the macro, in individual and/or collective bodies that are more or less fictionalised (Jimmy Beauquesne). Advancing or retreating, stretching or curling up (Eglė Budvytytė), it is in this ambiguity and latency that the works that inhabit this space are situated.

 

the works presented at Les Réserves, they bear witness to dialogues that are forged with other entities (Tracey Moffatt), rituals that are performed to invoke them, notably through music and song (Robin Girod, Camilo Restrepo, Colin Self). Personal mythologies (Ibrahim Meïté Sikely) then emerge via alternative channels and networks of perception and discussion (Prune Phi) and, ultimately, co-creative devices that expand them (Nicolas Faubert & Mona Young-eun Kim).

 

As for the works presented at Le Plateau (works from the collection, loans of works and specific productions for the exhibition) have one thing in common: they suggest, explicitly or otherwise, that transformations are taking place. These take the form of exercises and training (Camille Juthier, Taus Makhacheva), experiments and mutations that are sometimes successful and sometimes unsuccessful (Ceylan Östrük), operating in different places, from the micro to the macro, in individual and/or collective bodies that are more or less fictionalised (Jimmy Beauquesne). Advancing or retreating, stretching or curling up (Eglė Budvytytė), it is in this ambiguity and latency that the works that inhabit this space are situated.

The way in which the works are presented and interact is the result of a scenographic translation of the theory of basket fiction[1] by the American writer Ursula K. Le Guin, into a structural reflection that constructs narratives of assemblages, supports, articulations, shifts, imbalances and tensions. The scenography, devised by rita elhajj and régis badgassarian, invites us to rethink the role of central elements, rigid and indissociable from the architectures they support, such as the load-bearing pillars, while highlighting how the works retain their own autonomy, within this scenographic body but also within the institution.

Like a reversible bag, or two parts of the same non-linear story, the exhibition can be visited from the Plateau to the Reserves or vice versa, and visitors are invited to take the paths of reading and interpretation they wish, by reading, looking, listening, touching, sitting on what is available – in short, to experience what surrounds them in their own way.

 

[1] The French translation is available online athttps://www.terrestres.org/2018/10/14/la-theorie-de-la-fiction-panier/

_

This double exhibition is part of the local project of the same name, involving a number of partner venues in the Île-de-France region.

 

This project is part of L’Olympiade culturelle for La Métropolitaine, the international contemporary art event for Greater Paris, organised in collaboration with the TRAM Paris/Île-de-France network from 4th May to 15th September 2024.

Partner projects :

MuMo tour of Île-de-France, Normandie and Hauts-de-France with an exhibition designed by Frac Île-de-France from 3.06 to 27.09.24

Laurie Charles solo exhibition at Domaine de Chamarande (91) from 25.05 to 22.09.24

La Chambre à échos: Vieilles coques et jeunes récifs, at Centre d’art contemporain de La Ferme du Buisson, Noisiel (77) from 17.03 to 28.07.24

Sport en banlieue parisienne, at Musée d’Histoire Vivante, Montreuil (93) from 18.05 to 29.12.24

Nicolas Faubert and Mona Young-eun Kim’s work (presented at Les Réserves) collaborative project with CAC Brétigny, Brétigny-sur-Orge (91)

Exhibitions and workshops in spring 2024 with Collège Françoise Héritier, Noisy-le-Sec (93) and Lycée Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Créteil (94)

Workshop with the Centre Inter-Médiathèque de l’APHP (75)

 

Rendez-vous

 

Opening

Saturday 16.03.24 at Le Plateau (4pm-6pm), then at Le Réserves (6pm-9pm)

 

Launch of La Métropolitaine /

performances

Saturday 04.05

 

Guided tours

Every Saturday at 4pm

Free without reservation

 

Nuit Blanche

Overdanse: the dance marathon

Saturday 01.06, with Tony Regazzoni, 2pm to midnight

 

Paris 1924 – 2024

Saturday 06.07.24, performances and encounters

 

Coques sportives*

Wednesdays 10.04 and 17.07.24

2:30 pm to 4:30 pm

Inspired by sports equipment, make prostheses that will make you look like a robot, an animal or a superhero.

 

Family bike ride *

Wednesday 17.04.24, 2.30 pm to 5.30 pm

Ages 8 and up

After discovering the exhibition at Le Plateau, the group will cycle to Les Réserves for a snack followed by a hands-on workshop linked to the exhibition.

On reservation (RDV at Le Plateau)

 

Parkour !*

Saturday 04.05 and Saturday 06.07.24

2:30 pm to 4:30 pm

Create sculptural obstacles, then try out your own athletic course!

 

Nuit blanche*

Overdance with the Kidz

Saturday 01.06.24, 2pm to 6pm

During a festive afternoon, the Frac is transformed into a giant dance floor for a unique competition: the one who dances the longest wins!

 

Le revers de la médaille*

Wednesday 10.07.24, 2.30 pm to 4.30 pm

How about reinventing the values promoted by sport? Children and parents will create fabric flags in the image of their new mottos.

*Free appointment, on registration, at 01 76 21 13 33

Le Plateau
Paris

Jimmy Beauquesne, Swamp Fizzeling, 2022 © Jimmy Beauquesne

Vieilles coques & jeunes récifs

Une proposition curatoriale de Céline Poulin et Alicia Reymond

avec des œuvres d’Alex Ayed, Jimmy Beauquesne, Bruno Botella, Eglė Budvytytė, Nina Canell, Nicolas Faubert & Mona Young-eun Kim, Garance Früh, Robin Girod, Hedwig Houben, Camille Juthier, Taus Makhacheva, Ibrahim Meïté Sikely, Tracey Moffatt, Isadora Neves Marques, Ceylan Öztrük, Clara Pacotte, Hatice Pinarbaşi, Prune Phi, Camilo Restrepo, Colin Self, Ketty Steward & L. M. Cantori, Zin Taylor, Eden Tinto Collins, Jeanne Vicerial et Laure Vigna

 et une scénographie de rita elhajj et régis badgassarian.

 

Le titre de l’exposition, Vieilles coques & jeunes récifs, évoque la métaphore du corps perçu comme une enveloppe vouée à l’entropie, potentiellement concurrencée par de beaux coraux venant la remplacer ou au contraire la ranimer.

Les corps physiques et psychiques, réels ou imaginaires, se développent en réponse à des injonctions et des nécessités de performativité, d’adaptabilité ou encore de traitements : les avancées technologiques permettent la survie comme l’amélioration de la compétitivité, dans le secteur du sport professionnel, mais aussi, plus généralement, dans toutes les sphères qui participent de ce système-monde.

La science-fiction a anticipé ces sujets et continue à inventer des corps, réels, augmentés ou fictionnels qui se situent subtilement les uns par rapport aux autres ainsi que vis-à vis de différents écosystèmes.

Le titre évoque aussi le fait que, contrairement aux idées reçues, la SF puise souvent dans des histoires très anciennes, dont les empreintes profondes qu’elles ont laissé dans les imaginaires sont dures à cerner, ce qui participe de sa capacité habile de décentrement et, là encore, de régénération.

 

Les œuvres (œuvres de la collection, prêts d’œuvres et productions spécifiques pour l’exposition) présentes au Plateau ont cela en commun qu’elles suggèrent, explicitement ou non, que des transformations s’amorcent. Ces dernières prennent la forme d’exercices, d’entraînements (Camille Juthier, Taus Makhacheva), d’expérimentations et de mutations tantôt fructueuses tantôt soldées d’échecs (Ceylan Östrük), qui opèrent à différents endroits, du micro au macro de corps individuels et/ou collectifs plus ou moins fictionnalisés (Jimmy Beauquesne). Avancer ou revenir en arrière, s’étirer ou se recroqueviller (Eglė Budvytytė), c’est dans cette ambiguïté et cette latence que les œuvres qui habitent cet espace se situent.

 

Quant aux œuvres présentes aux Réserves, elles témoignent de dialogues qui se tissent avec d’autres entités (Tracey Moffatt), de rituels qui se performent pour les invoquer, notamment par le biais de la musique et du chant (Robin Girod, Camilo Restrepo, Colin Self). Des mythologies personnelles (Ibrahim Meïté Sikely) émergent alors via des canaux et des réseaux de perceptions et discussions alternatifs (Prune Phi) et, ultimement, de dispositifs de co-création qui les élargissent (Nicolas Faubert & Mona Young-eun Kim).

 

La manière dont les œuvres sont présentées et interagissent est le fruit d’une traduction scénographique de la théorie de la fiction-panier[1] de l’écrivaine américaine Ursula K. Le Guin, en une réflexion structurelle qui construit des récits d’assemblages, d’appuis, de supports, d’articulations, de décalages, de déséquilibres et de tensions. Cette scénographie, imaginée par rita elhajj et régis badgassarian, invite à repenser le rôle d’éléments centraux, rigides et indissociables des architectures qu’ils soutiennent, comme les piliers porteurs, tout en mettant en lumière comment les œuvres conservent leur propre autonomie, au sein de ce corps scénographique mais aussi de l’institution.

 

Comme un sac réversible ou deux temps d’une même histoire non linéaire, l’exposition se visite du Plateau aux Réserves ou inversement, et les visiteurs et visiteuses sont invités à emprunter les chemins de lectures et d’interprétations qu’ils et elles veulent, en lisant, en regardant, en écoutant, en touchant, en s’asseyant sur ce qui est à disposition, bref à éprouver à leur manière ce qui les entoure.

[1] Le texte traduit en français est disponible en ligne : https://www.terrestres.org/2018/10/14/la-theorie-de-la-fiction-panier/

_

Cette double exposition s’inscrit dans le cadre du projet territorial éponyme, impliquant plusieurs lieux partenaires en Île-de-France.

Un projet réalisé à l’occasion de La Métropolitaine, Rendez-vous international d’art contemporain de la Métropole du Grand Paris, organisé en collaboration avec le réseau TRAM Paris / Île-de-France du 4 mai au 15 septembre 2024.

Projets partenaires :

Tournée du MuMo en Île-de-France, Normandie et Hauts-de-France avec une exposition imaginée par le Frac Île-de-France du 3.06 au 27.09.24

Exposition personnelle de Laurie Charles au Domaine de Chamarande (91) du 25.05 au 22.09.24

La Chambre à échos : Vieilles coques et jeunes récifs, au Centre d’art contemporain de La Ferme du Buisson, Noisiel (77) du 17.03 au 28.07.24

Sport en banlieue parisienne, au Musée d’Histoire Vivante, Montreuil (93) du 18.05 au 29.12.24

Nicolas Faubert et Mona Young-eun Kim (présentée aux Réserves) projet collaboratif avec le CAC Brétigny, Brétigny-sur-Orge (91)

Expositions et workshops au printemps 2024 avec le Collège Françoise Héritier, Noisy-le-Sec (93) et le Lycée Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Créteil (94)

Workshop avec le Centre Inter-Médiathèque de l’APHP (75)

 

Rendez-vous

 

Vernissage

Samedi 16.03.24 au Plateau (16h-18h),

puis au Réserves (18h -21h)

 

Atelier d’écriture avec Ketty Stewart et Lucas Cantori : Juste une petite pièce

Mercredi 03.04.24, 18h30 – 21h

 

Table-ronde BD – Science-fiction

Mercredi 03.07.24, 19h (avec visite de l’exposition)

 

Les nocturnes

Le premier mercredi du mois, ouverture jusqu’à 21h

 

Visites guidées 

Tous les dimanches à 16h

Gratuit sans réservation

 

Ateliers du mercredi*

Sortir de sa coquille

De 5 ans à 12 ans, cycle de 4 ateliers

05.06 / 12.06 / 19.06 / 26.06.24

14h30 – 16h30

 

Balade à vélo en famille* 

Dès 8 ans

Mercredi 17.04.24 de 14h30 à 17h30

 

Ateliers du samedi* 

Ateliers Vieilles coques & jeunes récifs : Corps tentaculaire

De 14h30 à 16h, de 6 ans  à 12 ans

13.04, 18.05, 15.06, 13.07.24

 

Stage artiste avec Camille Juthier* 

Sur deux jours pendant les vacances scolaires, de 6 à 12 ans

Les 08 et 09.07.24, 10-12h, 14h-16h30

 

*Rendez-vous gratuits, sur réservation, au 01 76 21 13 45